JACKSONVILLE, Fla. — January 19, 2023 — During Jacksonville's 36th annual Martin Luther King, Jr. breakfast, TIAA Bank Chief Banking Officer John Pataky presented scholarships to the three recipients of the TIAA Bank ‘Be the Change’ Scholarship.

The winning students, Shamariya Jordan and Octavius Woods from Jean Ribault High School and DaMonne Allen from Andrew Jackson High School, were part of an essay contest among 14 different local schools where they were challenged to write about ways to work together to tackle social injustice and discrimination in Jacksonville. Each student received a $5,000 college scholarship for their outstanding efforts and achievements in pursuit to Be the Change.

In 2022, the Be The Change Scholarship won Ragan's CSR & Diversity awards for its work to make our world a more equitable place.

To learn more about the scholarship program, visit https://www.tiaabank.com/scholarship. To learn more about Be the Change and our other social justice initiatives visit https://www.tiaabank.com/about/social-justice.

About TIAA Bank

TIAA Bank, a division of TIAA, FSB, provides full-service, nationwide banking services to consumer, commercial and institutional clients through a variety of channels, including online and mobile applications, and Florida-based financial centers


Media contact